The University of Sydney

The University of Sydney is located in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It was founded in 1850, and in 2011 had over 32,000 undergraduate students and over 16,600 graduate students. The university is comprised of sixteen schools and faculties offering undergraduate, master's, and doctoral degrees.

Programs are available in science, arts, and social sciences, music, business, education, medicine, nursing, law, veterinary science, health sciences, architecture, agriculture and environment, pharmacy, education and social work, and dentistry. The faculty of medicine supports various teaching hospitals state-wide.

Based on the QS World University Ranking of 2023, The University of Sydney is positioned as the #41 top university in the world, which makes it the #3 top university in Australia. The university's global rank decreased by 3 points from last year.

University Profile

Ranking #41 #3
University Name The University of Sydney
Year Established 1850
Motto Sidere mens eadem mutato
Motto in English The stars change, the mind remains the same
Colors Blue, gold and red


Address Building A14, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone +61 (0)2 9351 2222
Fax +61 (0)2 9351 4607
Website The University of Sydney Website
Email Click here to send email
More Links

Admission Info

Find information below on admission to The University of Sydney.

International Students Allowed Yes
Student Body Men and Women
Admission Info Click here
Undergraduate Admission Info Click here

Scholarship and Financial Aids

Click on the following links to get information on scholarships and/or financial aids offered by The University of Sydney.

Scholarship Info Click here
Financial Aid Info Click here

Related Articles

Following is a list of 2 article(s) related to The University of Sydney or higher education systems of Australia.

The Group of Eight (Go8) is a coalition of Australia's leading research-intensive universities. The group comprises eight universities, which are the University of Melbourne, the Australian National University, the University of Sydney, the University of Queensland, the University of Western Australia, the University of Adelaide, Monash University, and UNSW Sydney. They are known for their academic excellence, research output, and strong international reputation. [Read More]
If you have planned and prepared yourself to migrate to Australia for studies, tips in this article will help make your life easier in an Australian university as an international student. [Read More]
Report Incorrect Information