Australian National University

Australian National University (ANU) is a public research university located in Canberra, Australia. Founded in 1946, ANU has established itself as one of the top universities in the world, known for its academic excellence and research strength across a wide range of fields. The university has seven academic colleges, offering undergraduate and postgraduate programs in areas such as science, arts and social sciences, business and economics, law, engineering and computer science, and medicine and health sciences. ANU has a diverse student population, with students from over 100 countries around the world, making it a truly global university. Its beautiful campus is situated in the heart of Canberra, providing students with easy access to cultural and recreational activities, as well as opportunities to engage with government and industry leaders.

Based on the QS World University Rankings of 2024, Australian National University is positioned as the #34 top university in the world, which makes it the #4 top university in Australia. The university's global rank decreased by 4 points from last year.

University Profile

Get a quick snapshot of Australian National University's key details.

2024 Ranking #34 #4
University Name Australian National University
Acronym ANU
Year Established 1946
Motto Naturam Primum Cognoscere Rerum
Motto in English First, to know the nature of things


Connect with the university easily! Find their location and other contact details.

Address Ellery Crescent, Acton, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Phone +61 (0)2 6125 5111
Fax +61 (0)2 6125 5931
Website Australian National University Website
Email Click here to send email
More Links

Programs and Courses

Get a quick overview of programs and courses offered at Australian National University.

Bachelor's Degrees Master's Degrees Doctorate Degrees Diplomas
Arts & Humanities n/a
Business & Social Sciences n/a
Engineering n/a
Language & Cultural Studies n/a
Medicine & Health n/a n/a
Science & Technology n/a

Click on the following button to explore a detailed list of programs and courses of this institute.

View Course List

Admission Info

ANU has different admission requirements depending on the course and level of study. Generally, undergraduate applicants are required to have completed their high school education and achieved a certain level of academic performance, which is usually indicated by their grades or equivalent qualifications. For international students, a certain level of English proficiency may also be required, which can be demonstrated through standardized language tests such as the IELTS or TOEFL. Postgraduate applicants are required to have a bachelor's degree or equivalent qualification in a related field, and may also be required to provide evidence of their English proficiency. In addition, some courses may have specific admission requirements, such as relevant work experience or prerequisite subjects. ANU encourages applicants to check the specific admission requirements for their chosen course before applying.

International Students Allowed Yes
Student Body Men and Women
Admission Info Click here

Scholarship and Financial Aids

ANU offers a range of scholarships to support its students, including domestic and international students. These scholarships are based on various criteria, such as academic merit, financial need, research potential, and leadership potential. For example, the ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science International Postgraduate Excellence Scholarship provides a tuition fee waiver and a living allowance for international students studying in the field of engineering and computer science. The university also offers scholarships for specific programs, such as the John Monash Scholarship for outstanding Australian students studying overseas. In addition, there are scholarships available for students from specific countries or regions, such as the ASEAN Undergraduate Scholarship for students from ASEAN countries. Students can apply for scholarships through the university's scholarship portal and are required to submit an application form and other supporting documents.

Scholarship Info Click here

Related Articles

Stay informed with the following articles about Australian National University or higher education in Australia.

The Group of Eight (Go8) is a coalition of Australia's leading research-intensive universities. The group comprises eight universities, which are the University of Melbourne, the Australian National University, the University of Sydney, the University of Queensland, the University of Western Australia, the University of Adelaide, Monash University, and UNSW Sydney. They are known for their academic excellence, research output, and strong international reputation. [Read More]
If you have planned and prepared yourself to migrate to Australia for studies, tips in this article will help make your life easier in an Australian university as an international student. [Read More]
Report Incorrect Information