The University of New South Wales

The University of New South Wales (UNSW), also known as UNSW Sydney, is a public research university based in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It is one of the founding members of Group of Eight, a coalition of Australian research-intensive universities.

UNSW was founded in 1949 as the New South Wales University of Technology, but its roots can be traced back to the formation of the Sydney Mechanics Institute in 1843. The university was established to meet the growing demand for education and training in science and technology in the post-war era.

UNSW's first campus was located in Kensington, Sydney, but it quickly expanded and moved to its current location in Kensington Park in the early 1960s. The university has grown rapidly since then, and now has over 62,000 students enrolled in its programs.

UNSW is a multidisciplinary university with a strong focus on research. It is one of the leading universities in Australia in terms of research funding and output. The university has a number of world-renowned research centers and institutes, including the Kirby Institute for Infection and Immunity, the Australian School of Business, and the Faculty of Engineering.

UNSW is also a popular destination for international students, with over 12,000 students from over 120 countries enrolled in its programs. The university is a member of Universitas 21, a global network of research universities.

UNSW is a multidisciplinary higher education institution with 8 faculties, set on a modern 90-acre campus. It offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in a variety of fields, including arts, business, engineering, law, medicine, and science.

UNSW is also a major research university, with over 30 research centers and institutes. It is one of the leading universities in Australia in terms of research funding and output.

Based on the QS World University Rankings of 2023, The University of New South Wales is positioned as the #45 top university in the world, which makes it the #4 top university in Australia. The university's global rank decreased by 2 points from last year.

University Profile

Ranking #19 #2
University Name The University of New South Wales
Acronym UNSW
Year Established 1949
Motto Scientia Manu et Mente
Motto in English Knowledge by Hand and Mind
Colors Black and gold


Address Gate 9, High St, Kensington, New South Wales, Australia
Phone +61 (0)2 9385 1000
Fax +61 (0)2 9385 2000
Website The University of New South Wales Website
Email Click here to send email
More Links

Programs and Courses

Bachelor's Degrees Master's Degrees Doctorate Degrees Diplomas
Arts & Humanities n/a n/a
Business & Social Sciences n/a n/a
Engineering n/a n/a
Language & Cultural Studies n/a n/a n/a
Medicine & Health n/a n/a
Science & Technology n/a n/a

Click the following button to see a list of programs and courses offered by The University of New South Wales.

View Course List

Admission Info

Find information below on admission to The University of New South Wales.

International Students Allowed Yes
Student Body Men and Women
Undergraduate Admission Info Click here
Graduate Admission Info Click here

Scholarship and Financial Aids

Click on the following links to get information on scholarships and/or financial aids offered by The University of New South Wales.

Financial Aid Info Click here

Related Articles

Following is a list of 2 article(s) related to The University of New South Wales or higher education systems of Australia.

The Group of Eight (Go8) is a coalition of Australia's leading research-intensive universities. The group comprises eight universities, which are the University of Melbourne, the Australian National University, the University of Sydney, the University of Queensland, the University of Western Australia, the University of Adelaide, Monash University, and UNSW Sydney. They are known for their academic excellence, research output, and strong international reputation. [Read More]
If you have planned and prepared yourself to migrate to Australia for studies, tips in this article will help make your life easier in an Australian university as an international student. [Read More]
Report Incorrect Information